Pattern Mixing

So, my office is a pretty casual atmosphere but with that being said I still need to look put together.  As my office may be more casual than some I hope you can still get some good ideas for outfits whether they be for your work day or otherwise.  I really love mixing patterns and putting pieces together that you wouldn’t normally imagine would go together.  My biggest piece of advice is that you stay in the same or similar color family, scheme, shade, or pallet when mixing patterns.  If you venture too far out when mixing you may just look like you don’t match and although I like not matching, I think you still need to look like you meant to put it together and not that you forgot to do laundry.  Nearly all of the pieces I wore today are on sale so you can get this entire look for a really reasonable price and that makes me really excited!  Let’s jump in!

IMG_2762

IMG_2761

IMG_2755

The top I am wearing is from Old Navy and is currently on sale!  I am wearing a medium and find it fits true to size but it is a fitted top.

The shorts are from Express and are also on sale!  I am wearing a 6.  I typically wear a 4 in Express; however, they only had a 6 when I was shopping and I HAD to have them so I went with it and I actually prefer the “looser” fit as I am not sure anyone would look good in tight camouflage shorts.

IMG_2760

fullsizeoutput_1567

My shoes!  Oh, be still my heart.  There is a special place in my heart for shoes–literally such a weakness for me.  These are Soul Society but I cannot locate them on their website; however, they are still available for purchase through QVC and ON SALE!  Doesn’t get much better.  I am wearing a 6.5 which is my typical size so I’d say they are true to size.  If you are on the fence about one size or half size up I would recommend going half size up because these fit perfect but I feel I could wear the 7 as well.  They also have them in black and I am trying to talk myself out of “needing” those too.  I wore these shoes all day at work (9 hour work day) and my feet do not ache at all.  The chunky heel helps with the comfort factor.  These are also ideal shoes to transition from summer to autumn.  They look great with jeans, dresses, shorts, & skirts.  A good pair of peep toe booties are going to be a staple this season–get them before they’re gone.

fullsizeoutput_1566

My watch is Michael Kors and is several seasons old.  I have linked a similar one.  My bracelet is Stella & Dot.  It is so meaningful to me.  The bible verse reads “I thank my God every time I remember you” Philippians 1:3 and I purchased it in memory of my mama.  It makes my heart happy.

IMG_2768

My earrings are the Stella & Dot sparkle studs in gold.  They are a MUST HAVE for me.  I wear them at least 3-4 times a week.  They add a little sparkle but aren’t too “blingy”.  They don’t irritate my ears and I am usually pretty sensitive to earrings.  Best part, they’re $19!! Stella & Dot has such a great selection of studs–any of them would be excellent additions to your accessory wardrobe.

IMG_2769

My toenail polish is OPI’s “Suzi Shops & Island Hops”.  A chalky pink is my GO-TO nail polish.  Pink is one of my favorite colors and I love the way it looks on tan toes.  P.S. Who knew you could get OPI polish at Wal-Mart?

IMG_2756

I added this option for those of you who like the look but may not be fond of the pattern mixing.  I paired the same shirt with a pair of Volcom classic chino style shorts.  These shorts also come in another (longer) length.  I have short legs so I tend to go for shorter shorts but the outfit would be stylish with either choice!

Feel free to comment, suggest, or ask any questions!

-K

One thought on “Pattern Mixing

Leave a comment