Cape Fear Seafood Co. The BEST Shrimp & Grits!

My side kick (Krysta) and I visited Cape Fear Seafood Company on a Saturday night before a 10PM movie.  I’d only heard of this restaurant through Krysta.  She had previously bragged about their shrimp and grits when we were in Charleston and honestly I really didn’t pay that much attention because WE WERE IN CHARLESTON, and they undoubtedly should have had the best shrimp and grits on the entire east coast.  But before I get carried away with how AMAZING this dish was, I’d like to give a little review on our over all experience of CFS Co.

The decor is what I’d describe as “beachy,” a very clean and cozy interior with an overall great vibe.  The staff is friendly and helps make it a very casual dinning experience.

We started with the Bloody Mary Oyster appetizer.  I am not a big oyster fan, especially of the larger oysters, but it was just “good.”  The oysters were fresh and lightly fried.  We did have a few “mud blisters” in our oysters making it a dish that Krysta (who seems to be like me when it comes to the slimy guys) and I would never order again. I did enjoy the Bloody Mary sauce, though!  It was a bit more special than a basic cocktail sauce.  For you oyster lovers (like my Dad) I say, go for it!!  FullSizeRender-2

Next, I ordered the Roasted Red Pepper & Crab Bisque soup.  OMG, y’all! It was delicious. It was very hearty and probably not the best decision to order BEFORE our choice main course of the S&G. I would suggest having this soup and pair it with a salad for a filling lunch!  FullSizeRender-3

Drum roll please… DUN DUN DUN DUN DA DA DUNNNNN!  Krysta and I decided to share the S&G. I’d heard her talk so much about this and it didn’t take much convincing for me to give it a shot. Not to mention that they are recognized by Our State Magazine as one of five restaurants in NC to try Shrimp & Grits!! The menu reads:

Cape Fear Shrimp & Grits:

Shrimp, applewood bacon, tomatoes, scallions & mushrooms in a low country cream sauce over cheese grits

  • Regular

$18.99

  • Small

$16.99

We decided to share the regular and Y’all IT DID NOT DISAPPOINT!  This was one of the most pleasant and tastiest seafood meals I have enjoyed in a long time!  The sauce makes it!  It’s creamy, but with a very nice spice.  Made with (I believe) stone ground grits and loaded with shrimp… You get a generous portion for the price. The grits were cooked perfectly and you can taste the cheese.  The over all dish gives you a smoky flavor with the perfect amount of heat all made with FRESH ingredients. Go try this dish! FullSizeRender-5

The restaurant itself seems like a very family friendly type of place. I highly recommend. Everything was seasoned perfectly and all the food came out timely and hot. I think the prices are very fair for the quality.  The service was decent but nothing impressive. I would like to mention that our waiter was attentive without hovering or pressuring, and that is nice.

Check them out if you’re in the Wilmington area: http://www.capefearseafoodcompany.com

Leave a comment